Friday, September 6, 2013

New found obsession


            I love smoothies. As a kid my older brother Josh and I had a routine on Saturday mornings, smoothies and cartoons. Josh was put in charge of the blender after the infamous blender of ’99- (this is relevant, I promise). R.U requires freshmen to have the 18-meal plan for the dining hall. For most people this isn’t a problem what so ever, for me, it’s becoming a dilemma. This week I’ve used my red card in the commons five times. So as of Friday, I have 13 meals left. Why? Well there are a couple of reasons for that. In high school I became use to not eating lunch after I had lunch at 10:30 freshmen year and at 1:30 sophomore year. Add in the fact that I have morning classes and pop tarts conveniently located in my room breakfast never really happens either. My Mom makes pasta fagioli (a pasta dish) that makes the commons’ pasta bar look like craft, always buys Organic produce and recently took up the Paelo diet.  Adjusting to the workload after a relatively easy senior year doesn’t help much either. The real reason, however, is Elderberry’s. Elderberry’s is a local smoothie/wrap shop- that is now located on campus! It’s an understatement to say that we have an addiction to Elderberry smoothies. They make the smoothies right after you order and you get to see all the ingredients that are going into your drink- and they use real fruit, not fruit juice like most stores.The only downside is the store’s hours. Elderberry’s doesn’t open until 11; so if you want to grab a perkilator on the way to an am classes- forget it. So what do we get instead of using our meal plan? J always gets a Mad’s Mango, M is in love with the Tomato Basil wraps and the Maroon Berry, S gets the Colada or an Orange Berry and I like the Really Raspberry. We all agree that if you need to stay up all night, the perkilator is the best way to go.

5 comments:

  1. I am in the same boat as you. I never use all my swipes. I'm not used to eating all the time in the cafeteria. I haven't tried Elderberry's yet, but everyone says its's so good. When I go I will definitely have to try some of the smoothies you and your friends get! Also, you did a good job explaining the reasons you don't eat as much in the cafeteria.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great post. But, um . . . WHERE is this place? Not that I need another addiction, mind you . . .

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've been very tentative about going to elderberries, mainly because i don't know whether or not that i would like it. I guess this good review is going to give me an excuse to check it out. I like how you went into detail about them using real ingredients and not the juice that you get from most places *cough dairy queen cough*

    ReplyDelete
  4. For one of our team bonding activities for hockey we went to this place. It was awesome!! My favorite smoothie there is the double berry one I think....I can’t remember what it’s called but it was pretty good! The next time I go I am going to try the one that you got it sounds amazing.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Nice post! I just want to recommend that you use your left swipes to get the Yogurt served in the Cavern, because I find it really yummy. And you could have a 14 meal plan starting from next semester.

    ReplyDelete